a n g e l s

I think I met an angel today. The sweetest little old lady came up to me at my desk after I mentioned she looked so patriotic dressed in her red, white, and blue. She said “well that’s the point. Our motto is patriotism, preservation, and education.”  She then goes on to tell me about her committee, and how they are all descendants of those who were part of the american revolution. “That’s the only deciding factor on whether you can join or not,” she tells me.

This woman’s patriotism was inspiring. To me, being patriotic means loving your country no matter what. For someone like myself living in the United States, that is hard. I don’t know what the rest of the world really thinks of us, but I imagine that they see us going through some scary shit and want nothing to do with it. That’s why I cling to my German heritage so strongly. I don’t want to be American. I’m not American, I’m German, I was just born in America. Sorry, sweets. If you were born in America, guess what? You’re American. I did not like this.

At the end of the day, it comes down to the kind of person you are. There are shitty people who live in Europe, and there kind people who live in America. Where you are born does not define the kind of person you are. Each and every person should be judged according to their character and nothing more. I’m done being ashamed of where I’m from, because *cliche phrase drumroll please* it’s what’s inside that counts.

That little old lady taught me that just by giving me a 10 minute history lesson on George Washington and the American Revolution. Her passion is inspiring. I’m going to start talking about the things I love with more passion. There is no reason to be ashamed of who you are, where you come from, or what you believe. Remember that.

I hope today blesses you.

es ist was es ist,

c.w.

Leave a Reply

