rain + empty hours

It’s raining today.

I’m currently at work and it is very slow. It’s always slow though, really. Except sometimes in the mornings on Tuesdays after I’ve had my weekend off. The one thing about Sundays and Mondays being my weekend is that when I come back to the office on Tuesdays, I have lots of work piled up and emails to answer and voicemails to return because everyone else already worked on Monday, catching up from their weekend. But the amount of work I have to “catch up” on is never more than can be completed in one day. Unfortunately, this means the rest of my week usually drags.

I do like my job. I worked in food service for 4 years and was super sick of that, and how early I had to get up or how late I’d get off. I perform in theatre as a hobby, and it was really hard to juggle that and the jobs I held. So one day I woke up and was like, “what am I doing? I’m not in school anymore, there is no reason I have to be doing this!” I promptly quit my job an found a new one. A real job. A desk job. *oh the glamour*

Things I like about my job:

  1. I don’t have to get up earlier than 7am or stay later than 6pm.
  2. The work isn’t hard. I can do it easily.
  3. It’s close to my home so the commute isn’t really…well, a commute. It’s only 5-10min, depending on the traffic.
  4. I get an hour lunch. That’s twice as long as my old job, and ten times as long as my job before that!

Things I don’t like about my job:

  1. I work with my ex-best friend (it’s a nightmare.)
  2. I don’t get paid enough to live *comfortably*.
  3. I sit at a desk all day, so butt fat is a real thing.
  4. The management is insane, gossipy, and all have their own personal agendas. Ew.
  5. The place I work is, well…elitist. The last thing I am is elitist. Not a good match.

Yeah, so at the end of the day, work is work. I wish I didn’t have to do it but we all have to. It’s not something you can escape. Except maybe if you’re born into a super dirty rich family and you have an allowance of like 100,000 dollars a month. But even then, someone had to earn that money, am I right?

What do I wish I was doing for a living? You know, I haven’t figured that out yet. I have too many hobbies and pastimes, but nothing that really strikes me to the core and whispers “yes, this is my calling.” I don’t think I have a calling other than to make people laugh and help them feel less alone. That’s what I’m here to do. If you need anything, anything at all, drop me a line and I promise to listen and love.

es ist was es ist,

c.w.

 

Leave a Reply

